Board of Directors

David Goeddel, PhD Chairman

Dr. Goeddel was the first scientist at Genentech and his pioneering work in gene cloning and expression of human proteins was the basis for five marketed therapeutics, including human insulin, human growth hormone, interferon-alpha, interferon-gamma, and tissue plasminogen activator. Dr. Goeddel co-founded Tularik and served as its head of research and chief executive officer until Tularik was acquired by Amgen. He serves on the Board of Directors of NGM Biopharmaceuticals, Peloton Therapeutics, FLX Bio, Surrozen, and Tenaya Therapeutics, and on the Scientific Advisory Boards of NGM Biopharmaceuticals, Peloton Therapeutics, and FLX Bio. Dr. Goeddel has received numerous scientific awards including the Scheele Medal, the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award, the Howley Prize for Arthritis Research and the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He holds a B.A. in Chemistry from UCSD and a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Colorado.

JJ Kang, PhD Board member

Dr. Kang is a Principal at The Column Group, a healthcare venture capital firm. She was the founding President of Tenaya Therapeutics and serves on its Board of Directors, and also serves as Chairwoman of Escient Pharmaceuticals. She previously worked at FibroGen in the project management of drug discovery and development programs, and in corporate strategy. Dr. Kang holds her PhD in chemical biology from the California Institute of Technology and received her AB in chemistry from Harvard College.



Eric Olson, PhD Founder and Board Observer

Eric Olson, PhD, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, where he also holds the Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Science, the Annie and Willie Nelson Professorship in Stem Cell Research, and the Pogue Distinguished Chair in Research on Cardiac Birth Defects. Dr. Olson has dedicated his career to deciphering the mechanisms that control development and disease of the heart, cardiovascular system and skeletal muscle tissue. Dr. Olson has co-founded multiple biotechnology companies to translate basic discoveries into new therapeutics for muscle disease, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Roger M. Perlmutter, MD, PhD Board Member

Roger M. Perlmutter, M.D., Ph.D., is executive vice president and president of Merck Research Laboratories, Merck’s global R&D organization. Before joining Merck, Dr. Perlmutter was executive vice president and head of R&D at Amgen, from January 2001 to February 2012. During his tenure, he oversaw the development and subsequent approval of a number of novel biologic and small molecule medicines in the areas of cancer, endocrinology, hematology, inflammation and osteoporosis.

Prior to joining Amgen, Dr. Perlmutter worked at Merck Research Laboratories and held roles of increasing responsibility from 1997 to 2001, culminating in his appointment to executive vice president of Worldwide Basic Research and Preclinical Development. He joined Merck as a senior vice president in February 1997. More recently, he served as a director of several biotechnology companies and was a science partner at The Column Group, a biotechnology-focused venture capital firm.

Before assuming leadership roles in industry, Dr. Perlmutter was a professor in the Departments of Immunology, Biochemistry and Medicine at the University of Washington, Seattle, and also served as chairman of its Department of Immunology, where he was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. His research focused on understanding the signaling pathways that control lymphocyte activation. Prior to his role at the University of Washington, he was a lecturer in the Division of Biology at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Dr. Perlmutter graduated from Reed College in Portland, Oregon, and received his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. He pursued clinical training in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, and at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Perlmutter is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

John Ripple Chief Executive Officer

John Ripple joined Exonics Therapeutics as Chief Executive Officer in 2017. Prior to Exonics, John served as CEO of Ensemble Therapeutics, Permeon Biologics, Virdante Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Momenta Pharmaceuticals), and Syntonix Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Biogen). He also founded Ripple Biotech to advise biopharmaceutical companies on strategy, business development and capital fundraising activities. John previously held positions as entrepreneur-in-residence at the venture capital arm of Partners Healthcare as well as positions in business development at Genetics Institute and Wyeth (now Pfizer), medical device marketing, and management consulting. He started his career as an aerospace engineer at NASA. John currently serves as a member on the Board of Overseers at the Marine Biological Laboratory (Woods Hole, MA), on the Board of Directors and Treasurer of the Children’s Melanoma Prevention Foundation, and as an advisor to the MIT Deshpande Center for Technological Innovation. John received a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Bucknell University and an MBA from Harvard Business School.